Home » Quotes & Prosody » Poems By A Nigerian » Lyrics » Poem » Basis of a parachutist

Basis of a parachutist

Miss ebony and fair

It is true it is you, but

I love to see you go

From the sky I jump, awkwardly

With my parachute

And without you carefully I land.

 

It is not that you are ugly or

Augustus was a chubby lad but

It is my uncontrollable love

That fills my hankie with tears

It is true it is you, but

I’ll feel no affection for my blood

Pretend my sister or let’s be just friends.

It is true it is you, but

With you I may miss my parachute cord

And my silk fabric will gather no air.

 

Now I hate to be on my own

But I prefer to see me alone

I don’t want to be left with words like

‘If I had my way I’d tear the building down’.

For Samson had a Delilah

And Adam got Eve.

 

    

    By Onyeche Vincent Onyeka

        © 2010 https://vinzpoetry.wordpress.com

1 Comment

  1. I like this poem, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

    Like

Criticize

