Home » Quotes & Prosody » Poems By A Nigerian » Lyrics » Poem » Save Me; Nigeria

Save Me; Nigeria

Save Me; Nigeria

 

Have you ever tasted pains

Nor swallowed suffering like pills

On an empty plate?

If you haven’t: thank God for your position…

 

Laziness not the chief hitch of my people

Civil-rights dished out our meals in a broken pot

Our leaders and dogs are not peerless

Equality, ask not why but why not.

 

Their only truth is good mourning

However, check your watch.

Our oil-well Judas thirty pieces of silver

Pocketing poverty, ask not why but why not.

 

Brothers, sisters and parents

Mar and scar my able-flesh

This nation is a no Hamlet

Save me… Aso Rock

 

Biggest amongst the west

Yet,

Our leaders prowl misjudging

The prowlers as innocent

 

The prince of Hamlet

Now goes outside his assignment

Save me;

Mother democracy is dead.

 

 

By Onyeche Vincent Onyeka

© 2011 https://vinzpoetry.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by thisnaijaguy, Onyeche V.E. Onyeka. Onyeche V.E. Onyeka said: Save Me; Nigeria http://wp.me/pQaGb-eU […]

    Like

  2. Kyle Page says:

    My spouse and i still cannot quite think that I could become one of those reading the important ideas found on your web site. My family and I are sincerely thankful on your generosity and for offering me the chance to pursue the chosen career path. Appreciate your sharing the important information I got from your web site.

    Like

  3. Save Me; Nigeria The True Poesy is a great write-up. I will spend more time looking into this topic.

    Like

Comments are closed.

